Welcome to Suburban Militarism

S1030012_zps44d461ac
Strelets Crimean War British Line Infantry on parade in the suburbs. The chap in the middle is the regiment’s Colonel, Lord Rufus D’Ascoyne…

Hello. After endless login problems with this blog’s previous incarnation, Suburban Militarism has moved to WordPress. Which at least gives me a chance to start anew and begin by offering some self-reflection. In essence, what is “Suburban Militarism” all about?

It is a record of my hobby, which is to say in essence the painting of 1/72 scale plastic soldiers. Military history, particularly of the 18th-19th centuries, was a topic that always engrossed me as a boy and captivated my imagination. I recall at school one day when the class was given the opportunity of writing an essay on any subject they liked. I chose ‘The Battle of Waterloo’, which I wrote about with gusto. It was to my surprise that nobody else seemed to share an interest in an even remotely similar topic! This was the first indication that my great love was potentially an odd or even uncool one and therefore something that might have to be kept secret.

Quietly, I amassed a collection of plastic soldiers (mostly Airfix and Esci) numbering into the 1000s, which was not a bad achievement for someone relying on pocket money, Christmas and parental generosity. I sorted and paraded them regularly. Although I had figures spanning a variety of periods, my first and principle love remained with the 18th/19th century European armies. There was something about all that riot of colour so neatly aligned in elegant lines and squares that appealed to me in some romantic way.

Coldstream Guards (4)
Coldstream guardsmen!

Unfortunately, all that ‘riot of colour’ didn’t extend to my own armies. Quite simply, I didn’t have the patience, knowledge or skill to paint them. I didn’t know where to begin and I certainly didn’t know anybody else who shared my esoteric interest who could advise and encourage.

And so, tragically, all the neatly arrayed ranks of Airfix Waterloo British and French Infantry, and the wildly charging Napoleonic Cuirassiers or Scots Greys, remained sadly monochrome…

Until one day, decades later when, well in to my thirties, I rediscovered the old troops in my parents loft. Initially, I had a go at casting and painting up some 25mm Prince August figures with some moulds I’d found. The results were encouraging. These sporadic attempts at painting them continued for a few years until I entered a local hobby shop. There before me were endless boxes of Napoleonic plastic 1/72 scale troops. I was like Augustus Gloop seeing the inside of Wonka’s chocolate factory for the first time. Pure heaven! I was astonished that there was so much variety as I’d never seen anything remotely like this when I was younger. I was lucky to find a box of French Imperial Guard! In that shop, I fell in love all over again with the little guys and immediately bought a couple of cheap boxes of Prussians.

S1030012_zps44d461ac
Colonel D’Ascoyne himself, with the dependable Captain Bennett leaning away off to his right.

And I never looked back. Making up for all those years as a boy with troops without any colour, I now paint them in every hue. This blog is a record of that renaissance. A little bit of militarism tucked away in Suburbia. Few know of my hobby outside of my immediate family. Behind those net curtains, one man builds an army.

Yours,

Marvin

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Suburban Militarism

  1. Hello from Sydney Australia Marvin!
    Your journey is more majestic than mine but I too have come back to the hobby in mid-life, and like you few know of it or the joy it brings.
    I have yet to read all your postings but I can already tell that the painting is truely superb, and that you love what you do.
    All the best to you
    Jean-Jacques

    Like

    1. Hi Jean-Jacques!
      Thank you very much for your kind comments. Yes – I love what I do. There’s a phrase – “Make work your play, and play your work”, which I take to mean we should find more fun in our working lives, and conversely we should take our hobbies more seriously because in many ways they’re equally important to us too.
      If you’re coming back to the hobby then I should like to see your work too. Perhaps on a blog, or Benno’s Figures Forum I can recommend too.
      Thanks again and I hope you continue to enjoy my future postings.
      My best, Marvin.

      Like

      1. Ah yes, that tricky beast the work/life balance! Thanks for the welcome Martin – will get my techno-savvy sons to help out with photos. In the meantime I will enjoy yours. Particularly liked your Red Lancers. I am currently contemplating minor conversions to the Waterloo 1815 line lancer set, so I will see what I end up with!
        Best JJ

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I look forward to seeing the photos! Ah, the Waterloo 1815 Lancers – you’ve only predicted the very cavalry next regiment in my project! Interested to see your conversions. I’ve already made some adjustments to a couple of figures myself.

        Like

Leave a Reply

