Featured Figures: 1808-1812 French Line Infantry by HaT

Bonjour!

As a means of introducing some of the types of soldiers that exist in my ‘army’, I thought I’d begin a regular feature to the blog whereby I showcase some of my figures I’ve painted up over the past few years. I thought I’d begin entirely randomly with some French Napoleonic Line infantry of the period of 1808-1812 by HaT that I’d discovered lying about.

I only painted a few examples of this box, and I did those a couple of years ago now. The HaT box covers three different types of troops; Grenadiers, Voltigeurs, and Fusiliers, together numbering a total of nearly 100. It was a bit of a struggle getting the white parts of the uniform presentable and indeed I think at the time I found it to be such hard work that I quietly put them aside. A couple of years on and I have yet to come back and paint any more but looking at them now, I think I did a very reasonable job.  My painting style has sped up a bit over the past couple of years which means more soldiers to display but, perhaps, a subsequent teeny tiny reduction in quality? Repainting them now, would they look the same? I’m not sure.

Either way, now I see them again, I do like them. These were the first French Napoleonic infantry I’d ever painted and, given that Waterloo Airfix versions had made up such a large part of my unpainted armies of youth, it was most certainly not before time!

So, now I’m finally getting this blog up and running, you might expect more examples of my little guys appearing soon!

HaT French Napoleonic Infantry 1808-1812
HaT French Napoleonic Infantry 1808-1812
1808-1812 French Line Infantry
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (voltigeurs)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (voltigeurs)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (voltigeurs)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (grenadiers)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (grenadiers)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (grenadiers)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (grenadiers) Rear View
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (fusiliers)
HaT 1808-1812 French Line Infantry (fusiliers)
Leave a Reply

