Prussian 7 Years War Infantry Project Complete!

Three regiments of Prussian Infantry. Top: Grenadier Garde. Middle: Brunswick Infantry (musketeers). Bottom: Munchow Regt (Fusiliers)
Three regiments of Prussian Infantry. Top: Grenadier Garde. Middle: Brunswick Infantry (musketeers). Bottom: Munchow Regt (Fusiliers)

Yesterday, I finally managed to complete the painting of 4 regiments of Prussian Infantry. This was indeed a significant moment for me as I first began these figures at the start of the year in January. An intensive period of painting large numbers of the same figure is something I’d never attempted before. In general, I prefer to paint a sprue and move on to something else, keeping my interest by exploring different sets. The Crimean War sets by Strelets are a good example whereby I will keep painting different figures from the large range available, occasionally returning to do another sprue from a set I’ve painted previously.

The 7 Years War Prussians were different. The regiments are made up of figures taken from HaT’s 7 Years War range. The sets allow the choice of three types of headgear; Grenadier cap, Musketeer tricorn, or Fusilier cap. Inspired by this choice of headgear, I decided to pick four regiments to depict, taking my information from the excellent Seven Years War Project website. The sets available are “Prussian Infantry Marching“, “Prussian Infantry in Action” and “Prussian Command“. In total, I’ve made about 180 figures split equally between the four regiments.  and using the 7YW Project as a guide chose the following;

Prussian Grenadier Garde officers and men.
Prussian Grenadier Garde officers and men.

I had essentially completed all these figures by June this year with the sole exception of two mounted officers for the Kalckstein musketeer and Muchow fusilier regiments. These two remained stubbornly unpainted and unfinished until this week when I finally got on with it. I’ve just been applying a coat of my wonderful new matt varnish and if I can manage to take some decent pics I’ll add more.

Men of the Prussian Grenadier Garde of Frederick the Great
Men of the Prussian Grenadier Garde of Frederick the Great

I’m looking forward to HaT releasing the next in the 7 Years War series which appears to be Prussian Artillery with the possibility of Austrian Infantry to follow. This appears to be some way off in the future at time of writing, however. In the meantime, therefore, I’ve been expanding my 7 Years War troops by painting up some Revell Austrian Dragoons of Prinz Savoyen’s regiment. Hopefully, the complete box of these will be completed some time over the next week!

Brunswick Regt. Frederick the Great's Prussian army c 7YW.
Brunswick Regt. Frederick the Great’s Prussian army c 7YW.
Brunswick Regt. Frederick the Great's Prussian army c 7YW.
Brunswick Regt. Frederick the Great’s Prussian army c 7YW.
Munchow Fusilier Regt. Frederick the Great's Prussian army c 7YW.
Munchow Fusilier Regt. Frederick the Great’s Prussian army c 7YW.
Munchow Fusilier Regt. Frederick the Great's Prussian army c 7YW.
Munchow Fusilier Regt. Frederick the Great’s Prussian army c 7YW.
Kalckstein Regt (musketeers) of Frederick the Great's Prussian army c 7YW.
Kalckstein Regt (musketeers) of Frederick the Great’s Prussian army c 7YW.
Kalckstein Regt (musketeers) of Frederick the Great's Prussian army c 7YW.
Kalckstein Regt (musketeers) of Frederick the Great’s Prussian army c 7YW.
Leave a Reply

