Me, Woody and the Sainsbury’s Book of Horses and Ponies

I’ve decided. After having so much fun painting my Scots Greys and Hanoverian Hussars, I’m going to shelve the Swedes for a while and concentrate on cavalry. It may even become this year’s ‘thing’ for my hobby.

So, if I’m doing cavalry, I really need to get a bit more serious about painting the horses. Uniforms – I’m comfortable with, but horses have never been my prime motivation for painting. Don’t get me wrong, I like horses a lot. The family even has a horse; a, 8-year-old dun-coloured friendly fella called Woody. I have a good rapport with the ‘Woodster’, and it seems he likes me a lot. We blow into each others noses and share an extra strong mint. I’ve even ridden him a few times when I can get my wife and daughter out of the saddle. My wife says I’m a natural!

Me on 'Woody'. Riding is easy. It's all about mastering them, showing them who's in control. And he certainly showed me.
Me on ‘Woody’. Riding is easy. It’s all about mastering them, showing them who’s in control. And he certainly shows me.

But I just don’t pay enough attention to them in my painting. But that’s all going to change thanks to my daughter Eleanor’s latest school library book; “The Sainsbury Book of Horses and Ponies”.

Horses and Ponies: An Painting Guide for Idiots.
Horses and Ponies: A Painting Guide for Idiots.

It has pages showing different colours of horses, like this below:

How to spot a Bay from a Dun. My wife's horse, Woody, is a Dun. I know that much!
How to spot a Bay from a Dun. My wife’s horse, Woody, is a Dun. I know that much!

It also has useful pages on horse markings called socks, stocking and blazes.

Stockings, socks and stars...
Stockings, socks and stars…

It even has a cavalryman in it.

Soldiers are also represented. In this case, it appears to be a member of the Life Guard.
Soldiers are also represented. In this case, it appears to be a member of the Life Guard.

So look out for my progress in adding more blazes and socks to my bay’s and chestnuts next time I showcase some of my painted cavalry!

Leave a Reply

