The Blue Dragoon

I thought I’d quickly post a few photos showing the development of my latest regiment, the Prussian 5th Dragoons. It’s great to be making swift progress after all those Red Lancers. Usual caveat applies: there are loads of details still to paint, varnish to add, etc, etc…

Italeri Prussian Light Cavalry
Italeri Prussian Light Cavalry
Seems like the chap on the right has taken a violent dislike to his comrade in arms!
Seems like the chap on the right has taken a violent dislike to his comrade in arms!

DSCF7754 (3)

For comparison, I found an image of a nice watercolour depicting a trooper from the same 5th Dragoon regiment. The colour is slightly different to mine but the exact shade of blue used by prussian dragoons is unspecified and supply issues meant a wide variation in colour anyway, so I’m perfectly happy with my blue:

Print showing a trooper of the 5th. He's wearing the cap, his discarded uncovered shako lies on the ground.
Print showing a trooper of the 5th. Cleaning his sabre, he’s wearing the cap whilst his discarded uncovered shako lies on the ground.

Each Prussian dragoon regiment included a small contingent of mounted jager also. Consequently, I’ve included a token figure of these with my own regiment, and here he is:

Mounted Jager in progress!
Mounted Jager in progress!

I may equip him with a carbine if I can find one suitable and attach it in some way. He’s not much of a jager without a gun! It’s not very clear in the photos when primed in black acrylic I’ll admit, but here’s a view of one of the horses with my conversion amendments applied. The original cuirassier horse did not feature the blanket or the feed bag. An insignia on the horse blanket has been removed also.

Was a cuirassier's charger - now a dragoon's mount.
Was a cuirassier’s charger – now a dragoon’s mount!
2 thoughts on “The Blue Dragoon

  1. They are coming out nicely, the blue is almost the right colour similar to the blue used by the Bavarians.
    It’s funny I have started to clean up my Perry miniatures Prussian Dragoons, the 5th is also my regiment of choice.
    I do not know if you came across this web page: http://www.napoleon-series.org/military/organization/c_prusflags.html , I find it very useful concerning Prussian Cavalry standards after 1807
    Keep them coming !!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a very interesting link, thanks. I’d really like to see your Perry Prussians when they’re ready – I can see how they are meant to look! Funny that we’ve both gone for the 5th regiment isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

