Featured Figures: Austrian Dragoons (Seven Years War)

While I’m finishing off the latest set of Prussian hussars for the Nappy Cavalry Project, I thought that it might be time for a “Featured Figures” post. And, I have to confess, it’s yet more cavalry…

Last year, I dedicated a good portion of my time to tackling four regiments (nearly 200 figures) of Frederick the Great’s Prussian Infantry of the 7 Years War. Once I these were complete, I considered that it was maybe time to paint some adversaries too, so I tackled Revell’s Austrian 7 Years War Dragoons set.

They are a nice looking set, delicately sculpted in the familiar style of Revell figures. They are perhaps just a little too delicate for my personal taste. I do like a little more distinct detail to hang my paint on, but painted with care there’s no doubt they make a very reasonable cavalry set.

The Austrian dragoons of this period were blessed with an astonishing array of brightly coloured uniforms, each regiment being different from the others. I chose to depict the Prinz Savoyen Dragoons regiment which wore an all red uniform with black trim. I decided to mount them all on greys for some reason or other! There is another set of these figures waiting somewhere in my collection ready for me to depict another Austrian dragoon regiment, whenever I get around to it…

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (21)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (13)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (20)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (19)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (18)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (14)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (15)
Oh dear, it looks like a little paint has flaked off his tricorn…!

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (17)

Prinz Savoyen Dragoons (16)

Leave a Reply

