The Don

When I was part-way through painting the Zvezda Lifeguard Cossack set, I thought this might well be one set I’d struggle to get to grips with. Now it’s virtually complete, I am feeling much more satisfied. They’re pleasingly colourful troops armed with those unusually long red lances and look good now finally mounted on the horses.

Ah, the horses…

…the horses I’ve tried to depict are of the Don breed, a Russian horse from named after the river that runs through the Steppes. They were commonly employed as horses for the Cossack cavalry being renown for their stamina on campaign. It seems that the Don can be a variety of colours, but their chief characteristic color was chestnut with a brown / gold sheen. Some have black manes, others are chestnut-coloured. So, I’ve been mixing paint, experimenting with shades and checking the internet for examples to compare them to. Not sure whether I’ve ended up with Don horses or maybe I’ve just created a new breed?!

You may notice from the following photos that their bases are looking somewhat white. Although I they are in no way finished, the resemblance to snow isn’t entirely accidental as I’m hoping to produce a suitably wintry scene for these Russian cavalrymen…

Cossack Lifeguards nearly done (5)

Cossack Lifeguards nearly done (6)

Cossack Lifeguards nearly done (7)

Cossack Lifeguards nearly done (8)

Cossack Lifeguards nearly done (1)

Cossack Lifeguards nearly done (9)

Leave a Reply

