Christmas Presents!

I had a wonderful Christmas day with the family. My parents came over for Christmas dinner which, all but entirely thanks to the efforts of my wife, was a complete triumph. I consider myself most fortunate that we were all able to enjoy such a healthy and happy occasion together.

I received some fabulous gifts as well, of which much was (unsurprisingly) military history / modelling related. My father-in-law purchased me a copy of “Charge! Great Cavalry Charges of the Napoleonic Wars”, as apt a gift as I could have had after this year’s Napoleonic Cavalry Project.

Charge Book2 (2)

news from waterloo (2)
More reading material: the entertaining story of how the victory at Waterloo reached Britain 3 days later.

This from my kind parents after some hints from me; Perry Miniatures British Napoleonic Light Dragoons 1808-1805! These are a 28mm set, so much larger than the 20mm I’m used to but I’m up for the challenge this year. The set comes with a choice of period uniforms to depict; European or India theatres; and the pre-Peninsular dolman with Tarleton helmet or the later French-style coat with Shako. Think I’ll go for the Tarleton – maybe even depict some yeomanry…

Light Dragoons kit (2)

I also received some more Perry Miniatures figures; metal ones. Victorian Royal Artillery figures loading a 12pdr Armstrong, some terrific figures which reminds me much of my visit to the  Victorian coastal defence for “Hurst Castle” earlier this year. Again, a different scale and a different medium to the plastic I usually work with, so it will be interesting to see how I get on.

Perry Miniatures (2)

And it doesn’t stop there. With the 27th Dec being my birthday, yet more gifts are to come, though whether they are relating to military history, I’m not sure, but I think I’ve got enough to be going on with for now!

 

Leave a Reply

