Leicestershire Intervention Force

After having a go at some of those Strelets Romans, I quickly got distracted and turned my attention to a half-dozen figures that I’d begun earlier in 2015 but which had been abandoned due to the demands of the Nappy Cavalry Project.

These figures are line infantrymen marching from the Perry Miniatures 1861 British Intervention Force range. The force was ready to ‘intervene’ at a time of heightening tensions between the United States and Great Britain after two Confederate commissioners were seized from a British mail ship they were aboard (the Trent) by a US vessel. Hostilities between the two countries were thankfully avoided although 1000s of British troops, such as these figures, had already been sent to Canada in readiness.

I’ve painted them in a more casual way than of late and it only took about a week. They are larger than my usual 20mm scale, being 28mm. Painting at a different scale I think requires a different painting technique. What works at 20mm just might not look right at 28mm. So I was out of my comfort zone and approached these figures in the spirit of experimentation. At one point in a fit of frustration, I abandoned all the careful shading and highlighting I’d applied to the tunics (which looked terrible) and just slapped on lots of the basecoat intending to start again. But there I left it and the end result is what you see and which I’m reasonably happy with for a first effort. Problem is: I’m just not sure how I did it!

It’s also the first time that I’ve painted metal since about 2011 when I was slapping paint fairly crudely onto some Prince August 25mm figures cast at home from moulds and metal ingots. These figures are excellent and the larger scale allows for more detail (and painting mistakes) to be seen. The early-Victorian British army is one of my favourite topics but seems to be generally overlooked by model soldier manufacturers, so these figures are a hit with me.

I’ve painted them up as (more or less) my local Leicestershire regiment, the 17th (not that I’m aware they were even present in Canada in 1861). And here’s how they’ve turned out,

Leave a Reply

