Armstrong’s Artillery!

Introducing a detachment from ‘H’ Battery 11th Brigade, Royal Artillery!

My Victorian-era artillery battery from the 1860s is now virtually finished. I really could use a few buckets to dip those sponges into, but I may have to make my own using modelling clay. Being only my second foray into the world of 28mm figures, I’m thinking that, although I am pleased with how they’ve turned out, I would like to develop my technique at this scale a bit further. Nevertheless, I did very much enjoyed painting them.

Royal Artillery 1860s (2)
‘H’ Battery, 11th Brigade, Royal Artillery, 1860s.

 

Royal Artillery 1860s (6)

The figures by Perry Miniatures are terrific and I was really attracted by it being one of my favourite historical topics; early to mid-Victorian era military subjects seemingly under-represented by manufacturers (at least up until the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879, anyway!). Some detailed and fascinating information on Armstrong and the development of RML artillery can be found on the excellent Victorian Forts website.

armstrong12prRBL
Contemporary photograph of an Armstrong RBL 12 pounder.

And here are my three gun teams. They represent the processes of loading, aiming and firing the weapon.

 1. Royal Artillery loading an Armstrong RML 12pr.

One is lifting the breach block ready for the man carrying the charge to insert it into the breach. The spongeman has already done his job and extinguished any burning embers remaining in the barrel. (I notice I’ve forgotten to insert the handspike with this team…)

2. Royal Artillery aiming an Armstrong RML 12pr.

The cannon is positioned laterally by using the handspike and is set to the required elevation by means of a screw which can be seen being turned under the end of the barrel.

3. Royal Artillery firing an Armstrong RML 12pr.

Fire! The charge in the cannon is fired by pulling a cord out of the breach block. A little smoke is seen being emited from the breach block as well as the end of the barrel. (Note: yes – my cotton wool smoke looks a bit dodgy as it fell off just before the camera shoot and I lazily just pushed back on!)

Next post: hopefully some news about this year’s Benno’s Figures Forum Group Build. Last year’s 200th anniversary Famous Waterloo Project was a great success and kick-started my own Nappy Cavalry Project.

2 thoughts on “Armstrong’s Artillery!

Leave a Reply

