The Road to Arnhem!

At last! My figures from Early War Miniatures have finally arrived. These are metal 1/72 scale Dutch infantry cyclists from (as the manufacturer’s name suggests) the early period of WWII, prior to the German invasion of the low countries.

They are going to be my contribution to the latest Benno’s Figures Forum group build project for 2016. Last year featured a build to commemorate the 200th anniersary of the Battle of Waterloo and inspired my subsequent Nappy Cavalry Project. This year, project lead Mabo has come up with the following idea which he’s called “The Road to Arnhem”.

My idea is to create a special diorama, that features an ideal of a street leading to Arnhem, the home of the FIGZ, throughout all time periods. So in the end we will have parts that are 10 square centimetre and [are put] together in a long row sorted into time periods.

Think about scenes that could have happened: Stone age people hunting, Celts riding, Romans, exploring, Franks travelling, Knights fighting, medival people discussing, Bandit waiting for a treasurer, Landsknechts resting, civilians farming, British troops travelling to Hannover, Nappies running around everywhere, the Great War, A Bridge to far and finally the modern times…

So, with that in mind, here is my idea… The year is 1940, it is during the period of the so-called ‘phoney war’ and in these uneasy times a small Dutch infantry platoon of cyclists is out on manoeuvres near Arnhem…

You’ll see a couple of ‘stunt cyclists’ in the above pictures which, ah, probably won’t be included. I’m now waiting for some paints to come through to help me with the Dutch army uniform (for which great advice I must thank my Dutch friend Michael from Benno’s Forum). I’ve also ordered some civilian figures which I hope might act as bystanders and which will hopefully help me provide some sort of narrative. Perhaps one of the cyclists dismounts and speaks to a young lady who catches his eye?

And in other news… I’ve been asked to produce some painted figures for the young son of a friend. Not sure what to paint at the moment, though something Napoleonic seems to be the brief. With so much on here at Suburban Militarism, I’m going to be hard pushed to find time, though of course I’m very happy to make this a priority. After all, I could be encouraging a modeller or wargamer of the future!

 

3 thoughts on “The Road to Arnhem!

Leave a Reply

