A little progress…

It’s been a little while since my last post. After the frantic painting activity of my Nappy Cavalry Project last year, it seems like I’m crawling along slowly at the moment. Another way of looking at it is that a) I’m being careful and b), that I’m getting on with other more important things!

The figures that are taking a little time are a dozen 28mm 1820s British infantry figures by Perry miniatures. They are Carlist War troops but I’m painting mine as the 54th (West Norfolk) Regiment,  taking my inspiration from a postcard depicting them on campaign in Burma, 1825. They will take a little while yet to complete and bring them up to some sort of standard but hopefully they should be all done before I go away on my summer holiday in a little less that 2 weeks.

Speaking of which, during my time away I am already planning to take the opportunity of visiting another regimental museum to feature in another of my “Suburban Militarism Day Trips”!

In the meantime, here is a preview pic of progress being made so far. More detailed photos will be provided when they are finished and I’m hopefully a little happier with them!

54th REgiment (1)
In progress: 54th (West Norfolk) Regiment, Burma, 1825.
4 thoughts on “A little progress…

  1. Hi! Yes, you’re quite right. I prime in black acrylic, then add the basecoat colour. I apply a dark black wash and then begin the dry brushing.

    Usually, I’ll start with drybrushing the basecoat colour first and then a gentle application of a 2nd lighter shade to the creases. Sometimes, depending on the colour, I’ll go straight to dry-brush the lighter shade for a greater contrast.

    I’m new to the 28mm scale and so I’m still experimenting a bit with these types.

    Like

Leave a Reply

