Someone has blundered…

Disaster, if that’s not a gross hyperbole, has struck more than once at Suburban Militarism this week. Let me explain;

russian-pensive
“Urghh. What a week…”

Firstly, I took a day off work and planned a Suburban Militarism Day Trip on the train to visit the Staffordshire Yeomanry Museum. My train was approaching the station bang on time when it suddenly stopped just short. Apparently an unfortunate incident on the train (a passenger being sadly taken ill) meant a long delay and it only rolled up to the platform when 25 mins late. All of which meant that I would now undoubtedly miss my connection to Stafford! I trudged home dejectedly…

french-confused
“Where’s my train?”

My second disaster struck only last night. I had just finished my Life Guards horses and, feeling pretty pleased with them, I was ready to apply my trusty Daler Rowney matt varnish.

Unfortunately, my beloved Daler Rowney has sadly let me down! Instead of the crisp matt, I’ve now got a satin finish; gloss even. Worse; it seems to have made them appear darker. The fine shading details are totally lost and the shiny horses look terrible! I’m at a loss to explain why my varnish has so suddenly ‘gone bad’, but even a second coat after much more stirring has done nothing but made it worse. I’m not sure it will be retrievable even with a fresh pot of varnish. Needless to say, after all the hard work – (and these Revell Life Guards really were hard work) – I’m gutted.

turk-desperate
“Arrrgh! Noooo…my Varnish!”

What makes a trusted varnish go bad? Age? Answers on a postcard, please. Or even in the comments section of this blog. I’ll have another go when a fresh pot of varnish arrives through the mail and I will post the results; good or bad…

Ho hum. On a brighter note at least, I’ve at least been finishing off some more of my Quiberon Expedition figures; specifically, the Royal Louis Regiment. Pictures to follow (varnishing dramas aside).

Royal Louis
Lymington Museum depiction of the Royal Louis Regt.

 

2 thoughts on “Someone has blundered…

Leave a Reply

