Cracker Battery in the Snow

Nothing says ‘Christmas’ quite like a 7 pounder artillery battery in the snow. My bizarre and distinctly unseasonal Christmas decoration is finished with this display showing Cracker Battery, Christmas Artillery of the Christmas Corps.

Christmas Artillery (22)

You may notice that Cracker Battery have taken time out of their gunnery practice to build a snowman. The Snowman was crudely and quickly made by yours truly but I think it looks decent enough. The carrot nose was made out of the end of a cocktail stick.

Christmas artillery (11)

Christmas artillery (16)

Christmas Artillery (24)
“Nothing like a bit of team building” as their officer Captain Fortune-Fisch advises.

You may also observe that there’s also a small pile of snowy projectiles ready for loading; these are somewhat over-large calibre snowballs. No doubt Bombardier Partihatt will carefully sculpt them to size before loading.

Christmas Artillery (20)

Christmas artillery (4)

Christmas artillery (3)

Christmas Artillery (22)

You may notice that I’ve painted their cannon a nice light shade of blue. I must say that Revell’s sprue was perfect. The cannon came together so perfectly that I didn’t even need to apply any glue, it just snapped together with engineered perfection.

Christmas artillery (6)

Christmas artillery (15)

Oh, wait. Looks like it’s started snowing again…

Christmas Artillery snow3

Christmas Artillery snow2

It’s a suitably seasonal scene, I like to think. I promise not to bring it out until at least early December! In the meantime, I’m adding a handful of Carolling Hussars as well, so I may share progress on those in due course.

Christmas Artillery (23)

4 thoughts on “Cracker Battery in the Snow

Leave a comment