Lace Wars: British Cavalry…not doing much at all!

At the beginning of this year I painted some horses for my War of the Spanish Succession project. After a hiatus I have now – finally -got around to finishing off their riders too.

These British cavalrymen are all sitting around waiting for some orders or action, a fairly common experience for troops, mounted or unmounted, and it’s nice to see it represented by Strelets.

The regiment I’ve painted is Palmes’ Horse. Previously known as Wyndham’s Horse, it became Palmes’ Horse in 1706 with facings described in C.S. Grant’s “Armies and Uniforms of Marlborough’s Wars” as being Sea Green. Grant has it that the shabraque was red but I used artistic licence and preferred green. The regiment would later in the century become the 6th Dragoon Guards (being described at various times as ‘carabiniers’). Bob Marrion included an illustration of a trooper from this regiment in Grant’s book.

I’m going to review the range of indolent poses in the set.


Pensive:


The grazing horse pose is my favourite. Nothing for this rider to do here but allow his mount snatch some much-needed lunch.


Waving:


Chatting:


Trooper with musket:


Waiting:


Loading a pistol:


Pointing:


Smoking a pipe:


Trumpeter:


Officer:

There’s still a few things I intend to do with these figures. I need to source a flag for the standard bearer, add some foliage to the base, add some satin varnish the black cuirasses which can just be seen under their coats and maybe even a wisp of (cotton wool) smoke added to that pipe!

11 thoughts on “Lace Wars: British Cavalry…not doing much at all!

  1. These look really nice, Marvin, as always. Nice to see you painting again. I agree, in stark contrast to the usual cavalry in full gallop, these guys have a refreshing “hurry up and wait” feel to them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Marvin, or should that be “marvellous marvin” you seem to bring out all the hidden sculpture in strelets figures which are often so criticised for being coarse. I think these are fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow, thanks for the praise, I’m glad you like them. A little careful painting does tend to reveal something quite nice from Strelets, so hopefully I’ve done them some justice.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment