Nappy Cavalry

This week I posted off to Germany my final two figures intended for the BFFFWP display, a Esci Scots Grey and a Verden & Bremen Hussar. Together with my HaT Prussian Jager and Nassau Grenadier, I now eagerly await their appearance in the final diorama along with all the other figures appearing at the June FIGZ convention in Holland.

Some recently completed Scots Grey and Hannoverian Hussars.
Some recently completed Scots Grey and Hannoverian Hussars. Hey! Note my use of grey, dun and chestnut horse colours!
Esci Scots Grey and British Hussars (painted as Hannoverian Regiments).
Esci Scots Grey and British Hussars – painted as Hanoverian Regiments.

Consequently, I’ve hit something of a hiatus in my painting pursuits. I enjoyed having a purpose to my hobby beyond painting simply whatever takes my fancy. I’ve also discovered that I’ve liked the experience of painting my old childhood Esci cavalry figures, indeed, I’ve enjoyed painting some colourful Napoleonic cavalry in general. So, I’ve therefore decided that ‘nappy’ cavalry is the next project for my hobby – for now. I have had a number of the excellent Italeri kits awaiting painting for some time and have also treated myself to a few new ones as well. I think I might aim to paint a half dozen or more of most if not all of these sets in the coming months. As things stand, then, I have on the ‘workbench’;

  • A few more Esci Scots Greys to add to the 8 already painted for the BFFFWP
  • A few more Italeri Hussars to add to the Hanoverian regiments

And then I’ve the following (mostly French) sets from Italeri to choose from:

  • British Light Dragoons
  • French Hussars
  • French Dragoons
  • French Light Cavalry (chasseurs a cheval)
  • French Heavy Cavalry (carabiniers)
  • Polish Lancers
  • French Cuirassiers
  • Prussian Cuirassiers
Primed and ready to go. Italeri British Light Dragoon and French Hussar.
Primed and ready to go. An Italeri British Light Dragoon and French Hussar.

I never like to turn my hobby into a chore, so I always remain open to changing my painting aims on a whim. And it remains to be seen if I get fed up painting all those horses or not!

Leave a comment